Yellow Roses

Yellow Roses - redone 36 x 40

“Yellow Roses”

40″ x 30″

Oil on canvas

So many people ask me why I paint flowers and if there is any symbology behind my Florals.   I do think there is a great deal of symbology behind my paintings, but not necessarily the meanings that one would suppose.   Looking through my work I realize I have painted far more roses than any other flower and while in the process of noting that I came across a quote that claims the rose holds the same symbology in Western culture that the Lotus holds in the East.   An intriguing idea and worth exploring, which for me means pulling my rose paintings together to create a rose wall in my studio.   I will try to get some photos of this wall to upload while I continue researching the symbology of the rose.

Leave a Reply

