Lavender Fairy

Old Fairy
“Lavender Fairy”
11″ x 14″
Oil

Sometimes I will have a palette of oil colors laid out after finishing a painting, and I feel I am not ready to stop working, but I’m not ready to jump into starting a new piece either. I will then either do some quick warm-up or gestural painting on scraps of linen or I will pull out works that haven’t been completed for one reason or another yet.

I started this fairy a number of years ago and last week I pulled the painting out to finish it, along with a stack of very loose oil sketches of live models done on canvas boards a few years ago. Working on all of these different paintings has lead to some interesting insights concerning supports for oil paintings, the various stretched linen and cotton canvases, canvas glued onto board, gessoed hardboard, etc., because I was able to work on the different supports and compare the failings and best features that are important to me for each of them.

Leave a Reply

